A Most Cherished Gift

March 11, 2011 at 3:38 pm Leave a comment

While looking through an old suitcase of photos at my mom’s house last summer, I came across a letter my uncle wrote to me on my first birthday 7/8/1965.  He was deployed at the time and was going to miss my first birthday party.  It was incredibly touching to read as an adult.  It is amazing to me that he took the time to write it given his situation.  Interesting isn’t it, that all of the toys I was given that day are gone now but this letter remains and is the most cherished gift from that day.

My brother and his wife have brought back this tradition to our family and I am so glad they have.  Now I write letters to my niece and nephew (I am behind in my writing sorry you guys!) on their birthdays relaying information about myself, my brother and my parents.  Thanks to the Kolcraft – Baby Matter Blog for doing a blog http://www.kolcraft.com/parent-center/blog/about sharing your family tree with kids. http://kids.familytreemagazine.com/kids/interview.asp This site gives great question to give to grand parents that they can then include as part of their gifts.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Thanks for Following Us! Check Out this Interview with SQ1’s March Superfriend – Neighborhood Parents Network (NPN)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

