Check Out this Interview with SQ1’s March Superfriend – Neighborhood Parents Network (NPN)

March 15, 2011 at 5:02 pm 1 comment

Each Month, we’re putting a Spotlight on our Superfriends!  Neighborhood Parents Network (NPN) is a not-for-profit organization that was established in 1980 that has now grown to more than 5,000 family, business, nonprofit and school members.   In fact, NPN is now the largest organized parent resource network in Chicago. NPN is an amazing resource for connecting Chicago parents.  They make it easy to get connected with other families all over Chicago online and in person to find the support, information, and connections you need to tackle the every day challenges of being a parent.  NPN provides social and support groups, popular online discussion forums, parent education opportunities (including a quarterly newsletter and a speaker series), and valuable resources (including an informational directory and our popular annual School Fair) to help parents navigate Chicago’s public, private and parochial schools.

Sarah Cobb came to NPN with a background of more than ten years in management, technology, and strategic project leadership. Every day she uses her experiences from PwC and Goldman Sachs to maximize the value and impact of NPN’s resources, partnerships, opportunities, mission, and to develop exciting ideas for the future. Sarah’s educational background includes a BS from Northwestern University and an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management. In 2007, after the birth of her daughter, she immediately became an NPN member. As Board President, for two years, she quickly learned the importance of NPN to for so many expectant, new, and seasoned parents in Chicago. She is absolutely sure she would not have survived Avery’s sleepless nights, endless spit up, and pacifier addiction without her New Moms Group and the friends she made through the Lakeview club! When she is not running to a meeting or squeezing in a quick jog on the lake path, you can find Sarah chasing after her husband, daughter, and boxer dog Sundae.

We were thrilled to sit down with NPN’s Executive Director and mom, Sarah Cobb to get an exclusive SQ 1 interview. We asked Sarah some fun questions about herself, see her answers below!

Q:  Sarah, tell us a little bit about how and why you came to be Executive Director of NPN?
A:  Just before my daughter was born in 2007, I joined NPN as an Expectant Parent member.  A co-worker at Goldman Sachs told me it was a must have for all new parents!  Before maternity leave finished, I decided to give it a go as a SAHM . NPN was my support system as a new mom and my way to volunteer and get involved.  What started out as a Board of Directors position in 2007, turned into my full time job in 2009!

As for the Why! In 2005, while completing my MBA at Kellogg, I discovered the world of non-profit management.  This woke me up to the fact that there are other opportunities out there to combine my experience and personal interests. The NPN Executive Director was the perfect fit at the perfect time.  I was ready to go back to work, but wanted to be passionate about what I was going to do, and have the flexibility I needed.

Q:  How has working with NPN impacted your life and what about your job brings you the most joy?
A: NPN has given me the ultimate opportunity – a flexible work from home job that is dedicated to helping my local community of families.  There is a common bond we share to navigate parenting in Chicago! This job is a unique opportunity to connect with other parents/parents-to-be, nonprofits and businesses.  Working with the organization is both fun and rewarding to see members leverage NPN to survive the daily ups-and-downs of parenting and life in general.

Q:  What gets you through juggling your family life and work with NPN?
A: Flexibility in my work schedule is key to keeping everything afloat.  I also work with an amazing team of staff, board members, and volunteers – moms and dads that family stuff needs to be a priority.  I have an incredible support system both at NPN and at home. I love when my 4yo plays going to “work” and drags my heavy bag all over the house – she gets it that I have to leave for the day and I still get to be there for the majority of the moments I don’t want to miss.  It has also been key for me to know that when things are busy – I just can’t do it all in a day (I am not sure I get this last sentence).

Q:  What was your life like pre-parenthood?
A: Before I was a mom, I was a workaholic!  My husband and I got married in 2000 and our little one came along in 2007.  Prior to her, our idea of work-life balance meant lots of travel for work and for play and many late nights in the office.  I worked in consulting and project management with 4 years at PricewaterhouseCoopers and 6 years at Goldman Sachs respectively.  We both worked hard and weekends were full of great dinners out and long walks with our then little one (our boxer dog Sundae).

Q:  If there were a movie about your life what would it be called?
A: Wall Street 2.0 – Investing our next generation

SQ1 is so honored to be included in many NPN events.  We had a blast at the NPN event at the Cubby Bear and we look forward to participating at the NPN New Mom’s Mingle event at Flourish on Saturday 3/26/11

Entry filed under: Superfriends. Tags: , , , , , , , .

A Most Cherished Gift Visit Our Booth at the FamilyFarmed Expo!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ellie Ander  |  March 15, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Thanks so much to Square One Organics for your continued support at NPN events and programs. Your presence definitely adds positive vibes and we love your organic baby food products!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

