Still Gotta Be Me!

April 29, 2011 at 4:30 pm Leave a comment

As I have said before, my brand ambassadors are some amazing women.  Today’s blog is from Heidi, a Square One Organic Brand Ambassador who has a little one and another on the way.  Here she tells us how in the world she keeps it all together!

Being a parent will be the hardest job you will ever have.   I didn’t believe that saying until I became a parent myself and now with another one on the way, this statement really hits home. Being a mom is a full time job and if you work in addition to motherhood, your plate is really full. Whether you are a stay at home mom or a working mom, we all need breaks.

So many of us run on empty and we need to take care of ourselves so we can give more to our children, family and friends.  Here are my one in the stroller and one on the way tips for sanity!

1.) The workout dilemma – Before having my son, I tried to workout as much as I could. With a hectic schedule a gym membership was out of the question. I tired to find alternative ways to get in a good workout. I found a great “just for mom’s” networking site, http://www.bumpclubandbeyond.com. It is free to join and they have scheduled events each month that have a fee or some are complimentary you can attend. Bump Club and Beyond has a partnership with Lululemon.  http://www.lululemon.com/.  You can work out for free with your BCB membership during the week and on the weekends.  The only drawback to this is that you are eyeing the clothes and usually walk out of your “free” class with a new outfit, genius if you ask me! I try to attend this free class twice a week and it is great to get out of the house toddler free for at least an hour.

2.) My clothes, my nails, my body, my guilty pleasures – Before kids, looking and feeling my best was always high on my list. I am committed to this not changing just because little ones are around. I always feel so much better about myself after I put a little of the focus back on me.

  • As a mom, it is so easy to dress sloppy, but I do my best to look my best everyday.  I am taking the stand that just because I am a mom doesn’t mean that I have to look like one.
  • I do try to get a manicure twice a month and since.
  •  I’m pregnant again, a monthly prenatal massage which is amazing given my work schedule and my plus one in the stroller!  Check out the Ruby Room, http://www.rubyroom.com/, on Division for massages and other fun “me” items and services.  Kate and her crew can really help you bring it down a notch.  Brace yourself the jewelry and makeup near the front desk are a little tough to leave without.

Before kids, looking and being my personal best was always high on my list. Doing these little things help me remember that, while I am a mom who is managing the growth and development needs of my son, I am still a women and I have my needs too. Mommy likes to look and feel pretty!

3.) Date Weekend a Win Win – With kids comes the lack of time spent alone with your spouse. My husband and I made a decision that making time for one another would be a top priority. When my son was 6 months old, he started visiting the grandparents once a month for the whole weekend. This gave my husband and me the opportunity to spend quality time together and catch up on some much needed rest. Grandparents love the alone time with the grandchildren and mommy and daddy love the alone time with each other.   It’s a win win.   I highly recommend doing this once your child is on a set schedule if possible. Remember before you know it, it will just be the two of you again.

4.) Gal Pals – Scheduling time with your girlfriends is oh so very important. I have friends from high school that we try to get together once a month for dinner. A girlfriend and I from college try and get together on Mondays.   Let’s face it women just understand each other in a much different way than men do.  There is nothing better after a day full of setting boundaries then a gab fest with the girls.  Walking distance from the Ruby Room is Bob San Sushi Restaurant.  Get your Ruby Room Zen on then walk right down the street for some girl time and sushi.

Since becoming a mom, these few things have helped me.  I don’t feel as overwhelmed knowing that I have these times set aside for myself, husband and friends. Being a work -stay at home mom, I have made a serious effort to make sure I am on my game 100% of the time. You have to do what works best for you and your family but try to do one thing each day just for you. Do something nice for yourself even if it’s only for a few minutes. A pedicure, manicure or massage may not be a daily occurrence, but an iced coffee from Dunkin Donuts sometimes does the trick. Take care of yourself and if no one has told you yet today – you look great and are doing a great job.

Entry filed under: The SQ1 Buzz. Tags: , , , , , .

Mighty Mango SUPER Smoothies and Smoothie Popsicles! Notes From Cooking Class!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

