Wednesday Blog: SQ1 Superfriend of the month!

December 14, 2011 at 9:47 pm Leave a comment

Each Month, we’re putting a Spotlight on a Superfriend.

Amanda Skrip is a natural foods chef and nutrition counselor living in Chicago, IL with over 6 years of cooking and nutrition experience. She has long been interested in the connection between food and health, and minored in Nutrition and Food Studies at New York University in 2005. After graduation from NYU, Amanda went on to receive her culinary training at the Natural Gourmet Institute and her nutrition schooling at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition, both located in New York City.  Amanda is a personal friend of mine and brillant at what she does.  Together we co-authored the Bump Club and Beyond Baby Food Making series at Whole Foods Markets in Chicago.  Keep up with the SQ1 Facebook page to know when the classes will run again.

Amanda empowers clients to transform their relationship with food and health, and discover how delicious a healthy lifestyle can be. Amanda specializes in health supportive cooking techniques and dietary theories. Her clients include families and individuals looking to maintain or initiate a healthy lifestyle, as well as those with food allergies and special dietary needs. Visit www.amandaskrip.com for more information.

We sat down with Amanda to get an exclusive SQ 1 interview. We asked her some fun questions about herself; Check them out below!

Amanda, tell us a little bit about how and why you came to be a natural foods chef and nutrition counselor in Chicago?
My career stemmed from my fascination with how the food I ate had a direct impact on how I felt – both mentally and physically. As I began to understand that ‘you are what you eat,’ I started cooking more for myself and loved ones. I fell in love with the art of creating a meal – balancing colors, flavors and textures of food – all the while creating a nourishing experience. I decided to pursue my passion, attending culinary school and a holistic nutrition program. Since moving to Chicago, I have been inspiring others to achieve optimal health through my work as a private chef, cooking class instructor, and health coach.

How has working as a natural foods chef and nutrition counselor impacted your life and what about your job brings you the most joy?
Health is all about balance; my own health has been transformed through learning how food plays into the equation. My kitchen is filled with all sorts of fresh produce, tinctures, teas, and tonics; I love knowing what to eat when I’m feeling down, need an energy boost, or am starting to feel sick.

It brings me the most joy when I work with others that are open to learn and ready for change. Food is such an integral part of everyone’s life, and often it is just an afterthought: something we pick up at a fast food window, grab while we are on the run, or use to zone out from the stress of our day. When people make a shift and place the attention on food that it truly deserves, the results are amazing!

What’s the one thing that you now know that you wish you knew when you were growing up?
I used to get really stressed about small things when I was younger. I’ve learned to focus on the bigger picture; everything has a way of working out for the best, and worrying only complicates the situation!

What is the best advice anyone has ever given you?
‘It doesn’t matter what other people think of you, but it does matter what you think of yourself.”

What is your biggest accomplishment?
This is a tough one!  I still feel like I have a lot left to accomplish, but so far, I am most proud of having created a successful business based on what I love doing.

If you could say something to the next generation what would it be?
Follow your passion, work hard, be open to learn, and never give up.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Friday Blog: What’s Up Doc? Wednesday Blog: Christmas Breakfast!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

