Superfriend of the Month: Elizabeth Kaveny

July 9, 2012 at 8:40 pm 1 comment

Each Month, we’re putting a Spotlight on a Superfriend.  Elizabeth was named one of Illinois’ “top lawyers” in both plaintiff’s and personal injury law and professional malpractice law. Additionally she has also been named one of the top 50 Illinois Women Lawyers by the Chicago Magazine’s Super Lawyer Section.  However, it is Beth’s work with Mercy Home for Boys and Girls that has us name her our Superfriend of the Month.  Check out the exclusive SQ1 interview below!

Q:  Ok, Beth we get there you are one of the top lawyers in Illinois, but tell us a little bit about Mercy Home for Boys and Girls.  How and why did you come to your position at Mercy Home?
A: I had a wonderful upbringing with a family that loved me and supported me in everything I did.  I have been given a wealth of opportunities.  Not so for many young people, including hundreds right here in our own City of Chicago.  I wanted to give back to our community and work with a charity that was truly making a difference in the lives of young people.  After looking into many wonderful charities with women’s boards in Chicago, I learned about the Leader Council of Mercy Home.  Mercy Home provides children in need with a safe home, with people who care for and love them, and with the ability to see and reach for a future, none of which they had prior to coming to Mercy. What could be better?

Q:  How has your work with Mercy Home impacted your life and what about your work with Mercy Home brings you the most joy?
A: The young people at Mercy Home give me more than I give to them.  They give me perspective and an appreciation for how wonderful my life is and has been.  Both the staff and the kids at Mercy Home never cease to amaze me with their capacity to love and be loved.  What brings me the most joy is learning of the service projects that the kids at Mercy Home do for others.  Every year, they present the Mayor of Chicago with service books showing all the work they have done to better the lives of others. I think of them as being in need, yet they somehow manage to focus on others who are less fortunate and even more in need.  They remind me that no matter who you are, there will always be greater and lesser persons than yourself.

Q: Being one of the top lawyers in Illinois and also a mother of four must mean some serious juggling.  What gets you through your family life and work?
A:   It is serious juggling and I have never been all that coordinated frankly. Fortunately, I have a top notch support system both at home and at work, which I would be lost without.  Heck, I am lost a lot even with them.  My most commonly uttered words:  I am supposed to be where????  As with most of us, my children are what gets me through.  When I get home and see their little faces, everything else fades away.  When things get crazy at home, I admit sometimes its their sleeping little faces that take us all back to ground zero.

Q:  What was your life like pre-parenthood?
A:  Ooh, do we really want to go there?  FUN.  Chicago is a wonderful city to live in as a young, single professional girl. Good friends and Good times.  We worked hard and played hard.  Shopping, softball, traveling, golf, parties, dancing, even skydiving (yes, I jumped out of a perfectly good airplane on more than one occasion).

Q:  If there was a movie about your life what would it be called
A:  That’s an easy one.   WHERE AM I SUPPOSED TO BE???  Philosophically, I think we all need to ask ourselves that question sometimes.  But with a schedule like mine, its just a question I ask every day.

Entry filed under: Superfriends. Tags: , , , , , , .

Popeye’s Right On! What’s Cookin? Green Eggs Cupcakes!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Burke Wise Morrissey & Kaveny  |  July 24, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    […] Each Month, Square One Organics puts a Spotlight on a Superfriend.  Elizabeth was named one of Illinois’ “top lawyers” in both plaintiff’s and personal injury law and professional malpractice law. Additionally she has also been named one of the top 50 Illinois Women Lawyers by the Chicago Magazine’s Super Lawyer Section.  However, it is Beth’s work with Mercy Home for Boys and Girls that has us name her our Superfriend of the Month.  Click to check out the exclusive SQ1 interview! […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

