Superfriend of the Month: Tracy Hollenbach

November 6, 2012 at 9:08 pm Leave a comment

SQ1 is thrilled to shine a light on you all the work Tracy Hollenbach has been doing with The American Dental Association – especially all of the cool stuff that has been incorporated into MouthHealthy, a website created by the American Dental Association just for you.

Your mouth health is an important part of your overall health, and this new website is informative, fun and easy to use. Health information changes all the time and this website will be updated accordingly. Check MouthHealthy often to find answers to all your dental-related questions.

Learn more about our Superfriend of the Month, Tracy and MouthHealthy in the exclusive SQ1 interview below!

Q:  Tracy, tell us a little bit about the American Dental Association and all of the cool stuff you are doing for your new website.
A:  The ADA’s new website, MouthHealthy.org, is consumer focused – providing oral health information to people so they can take better care of their mouths. We wanted to develop this site, which is available in English and Spanish, because awareness and prevention play key roles in maintaining good oral health.  MouthHealthy.org has information by life stages and people can search topics from A-Z. ADA Seal of Acceptance products are available for search as well as dentists using the ADA Find-a-Dentist feature. There is even an area devoted to kids – with fun resources and games to help bring awareness to the importance of oral health. In November we are going to be launching the ADA Symptom Checker, an app to help people monitor and maintain their oral health – with a web version on MouthHealthy.org.

Q:  How and why did you come to your current position at the American Dental Association?
A:  I have worked at the ADA since 1994 – at first with dental students – educating them as to what the ADA does for the profession. In May 2004 I left after my second child was born, but I continued to consult. In January 2009 I returned full-time in the newly centralized marketing department (I had a third child in August 2006 and realized I’m a better mom when it’s not 24/7). I currently hold the position of senior manager, marketing in the Division of Communications.

Q:  How has working with the American Dental Association impacted your life and what about your job brings you the most joy?
A:  I love my job – it’s true that I really don’t know work outside of the ADA, but I love that it’s a service organization that helps dentists help patients. Working there for so long I have countless friends across the US that are dentists – all of whom love what they do and care about their staff and patients. I also love the people I work with every day. I’m not certain if it’s due to it being a non-profit, but I have always had incredibly nurturing supervisors and colleagues. I remember when I was little and I would ask my dad how work was and his answer would be “work is work.” I’m so glad that I can tell my kids how much I love my job, that it’s something that I am incredibly proud of – yes, work is work, but it’s fulfilling work.

Q:  What’s the one thing that you now know that you wish you knew when you were growing up?
A:  That I probably will live in the Chicagoland area for the rest of my life – so for college go outside of the midwest (I went to Purdue). I wish I could live somewhere else for a spell. Maybe after I send my kids to college.

Q: What is the best advice anyone has ever given you?
A:  That “crisis” and “opportunity” are the same words in Chinese. Not sure if that is factual – but sure makes me feel better when there is a crisis – whether it’s personal or professional.

Q: What is your biggest accomplishment?
A:  My family – not sure how I got so lucky. I have the best husband and kids. I’ve learned that nothing else matters if those who you love are safe, happy and healthy and you are all together.

Q: If you could say something to the next generation what would it be?
A:  Although texting is crazy awesome (I’m a huge fan since I can’t stand the telephone) – make sure you don’t get too caught up with technology.  I went to Mexico and Canada with friends and family this year without an international calling plan – and although it felt weird at first not to have the instant contact option (and I did get separated from my family for half a day in Montreal, which actually ended up not being entirely bad) – they were amazing trips because I got to focus on the people who were with me – and that is time I can cherish forever.

Entry filed under: The SQ1 Buzz. Tags: , , , , , , , .

Soup’s On! What’s Cookin? Creamy Pumpkin Pie Latte Smoothie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Buy Square One Organics!

Click Here to buy Square One Organics

Our Impressive Partners

Chicago Parent

Twitter

Available Whole Foods Market – Lincoln Park on Kingsbury St.

Available Whole Foods Market- Lincoln Park

We are proud to be a part of the local program

Available at Sunset Foods throughout Chicago

Sunset Foods

Get the SQ1 Children’s CD featuring 2010 Idol Winner Lee Dwyze

Get the Square One Children's CD

